header image

2011 winners, Summer Fellowship for Innovative Teachers

by admin on June 22, 2011

Stacia Perry-Eaton, of Tampa Preparatory School, Tampa, Florida, won our Fellowship for eliminating lectures in her chemistry course, and creating a student-as-teacher format. One innovation is that students will be graded according to how well they help others learn. In addition, the course is inter-disciplinary: it combines the arts, and focuses on the chemistry of art.

Jerry Hobbs, of Granite Hills High School, in Madison, California, won for helping to mainstream students with learning disabilities. Jerry is dedicated and persuasive. He has achieved strong results with his approach, which combines exacting planning and scaffolding of activities with a dramatically new set of learning exercises. We are convinced that some learners will benefit from this approach, in a mainstream environment.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>